Burlington

260 South Union St. 

This colonial revival was built in 1896, by a conductor of the Central Vermont Railroad, as a single family home. It was then renovated in 1950 to a multi-unit apartment building, which stood as a nursing home for some years.

 

Marc Jacobs purchased the home in 1992, installed a brand new slate roof, insulated the buildilng and made numerous structural repairs to the home.

 

This lovely Victorian is located in the middle of the hill section, a block from Edmunds Middle School & Elementary School, and five blocks from downtown. 

 
 
8U0A0753.jpg
8U0A0744.jpg
32 Orchard Terrace

32 Orchard Terrace was the first Burlington Property that Marc Jacobs purchased in 1983. In the 1970's this home operated as a two-unit apartment building; in 2007 Mr. Jacobs renovated the building to accommodate three units.

 

This beautiful house is located off of Pearl Street, two blocks from downtown, and a block behind City Market. 

 
409-411 North St.

Sherley Rutstein's father built this duplex in the 1930's; the first and second floor homes are an almost mirror image of each other. Sherley and her father moved out of the lower part of North Street, which at the time was the Jewish ghetto, and relocated higher in the hill section. 

 

Marc Jacobs purchased the home in 2000 and has been updating the building every since.

 

Located near the top of North Street, this refurbished duplex is in a nice central, quiet neighborhood.

 
130 Robinson Pkwy

This charming Tudor was one once a clapboard home, part of the Rugles House farming property. At some point it was made into a Tudor house and was sub-divided into four units. United Mining & Salvage purchased this farmhouse in 1983.

 

Located just off of South Prospect Street, this home is nestled in a quiet horseshoe neighborhood, yet is just two blocks from the University of Vermont and Champlain College.

 
141-143 Howard St.
141-143 Howard St.
141-143 Howard St.
 

United Mining & Salvage purchased this superb craftsman style home in 2009, along with 476-478 Saint Paul Street, from the Gadue's family. Built in 1947, after the World War, the owner was convinced to split the house up from three units to six units in order to make more housing for the influx of war veterans. 

 

This large home is on the outskirts of downtown, amidst the hill section and just blocks from the sister's neighborhood.

 

 

 
476-478 Saint Paul St.
 

United Mining & Salvage purchased this quaint cape home in 2009, along with 141-143 Howard Street, from the Gadue's family. It was built in 1900 as a single family home, then was divided into four units. 

 

This wonderful home boasts a large yard, and is situated on the corner of Saint Paul Street and Howard Street. A ten minute walk to downtown and the colleges, this is a lovely location.

 
7 - 11 Fletcher Place
 

A stunning Victorian built in the 1890's, accompanied by 11 Fletcher Place which stood as the fall out shelter from the 50's & 60's until it was remodeled into a garage and then a two unit multi-family building. These two units have been completely refurbished, and are gorgeous historical spaces, as are the rooms in the main house.

 

Located a block from Fletcher Allen Hospital, two blocks from the University of Vermont, and just minutes from Winooski. 

 
508 South Union St.
 
This beautiful single family home built in 1899. It has such charm and character. It was purchased in 1994 by United Mining & Salvage, and has received a new roof, new wrap-around porch and a remodeled bathroom. 
 
Located at the split of South Union Street and Saint Paul Street, this old home is blocks from South Park and on the outskirts of downtown.

 

 
510 South Union St.
 

This pleasant house was built behind 508 South Union Street in 1899. Purchased by United Mining & Salvage in 1994 as a two-unit home. The two units were converted to three, making better use of the two-car garage and large attic. The three units have been completely renovated with refinished hardwood floors, skylights, and new fixtures amongst other fixings.

 

Pushed back from the road, nestled between South Union Street and South Winooski, lends a lot of privacy to this downtown abode.

 

 

 
4 Haswell St.
 

A charming duplex set in an ideal downtown location. The home was built in 1899, and is set on a quiet street with lake views. Both units have an enclosed porch, and the first floor unit still boasts the original pine floors. There is a large backyard,  and the home gets an incredible amount of natural light. 

 

Just steps away from battery park, the waterfront, and the skate park, this home is in a wonderful setting.

 

 

 
89 North Prospect St.
 

This Victorian gem was built in 1888, designed by the Burlington architect Z. T. Austin. It was a 24-room sanitarium, 'A restful home for tired and sick nerves'. The business was run by Dr. A.J. Willard, a superintendent of Mary Fletcher Hospital. He named the business "Prop'r Nervine Establishment and Rest Cure". The building is now home to 10 apartment units. Each unit has been remodeled and the original vintage interior has been restored. 

 

 

  • googleplus

© 2019 by United Mining & Salvage

508 South Union St.